Additional Important Notice on Visa Restrictions for Strengthening Border Security Measures related to the spread Novel Coronavirus

On 19 March 2020, the Government of Japan decided to drastically strengthen the additional border security measures against the spread of Novel Coronavirus infections as follows;

- The validity of single entry visa and multiple entry visa, including diplomatic and official visa of Japan, which have been issued by Embassies, Consulates-General and Consulate of Japan in following 38 countries such as *Schengen member States, Ireland, Andorra, Iran, United Kingdom, Egypt, Cyprus, Croatia, San Marino, Vatican, Bulgaria, Monaco, and Romania by March 21, 2020, will be temporarily suspended.
- 2. <u>The application of visa exemption arrangements</u> for *Schengen member States, Ireland, Andorra, Iran, United Kingdom, Cyprus, Croatia, San Marino, Vatican, Bulgaria, Monaco, and Romania <u>will be temporarily suspended</u>.
- The foregoing measures of 1 and 2 will enter into force on March 21, 2020.
 0:00am (JST) until the last day of April 2020.

*Schengen member States :26 countries

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland